IAC Nuclear/PET - Newsroom

The following are recent announcements from the IAC.

IAC Nuclear/PET Announces New Case Study Requirements

MAY 2015 | In keeping with the IAC's continued commitment to streamlining and simplifying the accreditation process, we are pleased to announce several updates to the IAC Nuclear/PET case study requirements that became effective this spring. In summary:


  • Areas of General Nuclear Medicine have been combined (e.g., Musculoskeletal System/Infection Imaging/Tumor and Central Nervous System/Pulmonary System/Hematopoietic, Reticuloendothelial, Lymphatic), with only two cases now required per each grouping. For a facility applying for General Nuclear Medicine accreditation for more than type, this results in 12 case studies being required rather than the previous number of 22.


  • Facilities applying for RMPI accreditation are now required to submit four studies (reduced from five), of which one may be normal. In addition, there is now more flexibility related to abnormal case selection and the requirement to submit two abnormal case studies from each interpreting physician is no longer in place.

The evaluation of case studies continues to be a critical aspect of the accreditation process, allowing the IAC to assess both the interpretative and technical quality of the level of patient care provided by the facility. However after thorough evaluation, the Board of Directors determined that assessing the quality of the facility can be accomplished with less case studies, equating to less of a burden on the applicant facility. As an accreditation organization, IAC Nuclear/PET is committed to maintaining a program that balances the changing needs of both the nuclear medicine community and the general public by influencing the quality of patient care provided.

To review a complete list of the current case study requirements for IAC Nuclear/PET, please visit intersocietal.org/nuclear/seeking/case_studies.htm. The IAC staff is happy to answer questions about these revised case study requirement via phone 800-838-2110 or e-mail (visit our staff directory at intersocietal.org/nuclear/main/contact_us.htm).

IAC Awarded ISO 9001:2008 Management System and ISO/IEC 27001:2013 Information Security Certifications

JANUARY 15, 2015 | The Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) ISO Logoannounced today that it is the first organization to achieve integrated management system certification (9001:2008 and 27001:2013); accredited against ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB) and International Accreditation Forum (IAF) standards.

ISO 9001:2008 is process-based, a certification that recognizes organizations that can link business objectives with operating effectiveness. ISO 27001:2013 recognizes organizations that establish and maintain an Information Security Management System (ISMS).

Read the complete press release»

News Archive (Articles Prior to 2015)

2014 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2013 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2012 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2011 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2010 (click on the article name to view PDF)

Back to top