About IAC Carotid Stenting Accreditation

The Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) accredits facilities that perform stenting of the extracranial carotid artery by ensuring that the facility meets benchmarks for quality based on resources, training and outcomes. IAC accreditation is a means by which facilities can evaluate and demonstrate the level of patient care they provide. IAC Carotid Stenting accreditation is granted for a three-year period from the original date of decision. 

Accreditation Process

Designed to serve facilities as an educational tool, IAC Carotid Stenting accreditation is made up of two crucial steps.

  • Review of the Standards: First, facilities conduct a self-evaluation by reviewing the IAC StandardsStandards are the minimum requirements to which an accredited facility is held accountable. Download the Standards»
  • Completion of the Online Application: Second, facilities utilize IAC Online Accreditation to complete and submit their application. Completion of the application requires detailed information on all aspects of facility operation as well as the submission of actual case studies for review. Read more about case studies»

Accreditation Fee

The accreditation fee ($6,000 per three-year cycle) is due at the time of online application submission. View complete IAC fee structure»

Application Review

The application review process generally takes approximately 8 to 10 weeks to complete, at which time the decision is provided to the facility. Read more»

Accreditation Decisions

After the review process has been completed, the facility will be notified of the accreditation decision via a notification letter that may be downloaded from the Online Accreditation portal. Read more»