IAC Vascular Testing - Newsroom

IAC Releases Updates to Vascular Testing Standards - New Standards Effective July 15, 2018

JANUARY 15, 2018 | As an accreditation organization, IAC Vascular Testing is committed to maintaining a program that balances the changing needs of both the vascular testing community and the general public by influencing the quality of patient care provided. The IAC Standards and Guidelines for Vascular Testing Accreditation are the most important component of that commitment. Composed by physicians and technologists from the IAC sponsoring organizations, the Standards are reviewed periodically by the Board of Directors and revised as needed.

As a component of the accreditation process, the IAC Vascular Testing Board of Directors preliminarily approved the proposed Standards which were posted to the IAC Vascular Testing website for a 60-day public comment period from October 5 to December 5, 2017. Following careful review and consideration of the comments received, the Board of Directors voted final approval of the Standards.

Access the Standards

View the new Standards on the IAC Vascular Testing website:

Download: The IAC Standards and Guidelines for Vascular Testing Accreditation

Key Revisions to the Standards

Key modifications or additions are shown in the current Standards in highlighting and include:

  • Medical Director Required Training and Experience (Applicable Standard 1.1.1A)
  • Medical Staff Required Training and Experience (Applicable Standard 1.3.1A)
  • Diagnostic Criteria – Extracranial Cerebrovascular (Applicable Standard
  • Diagnostic Criteria – Peripheral Arterial (Applicable Standard
  • Diagnostic Criteria – Visceral Vascular (Applicable Standard
  • Documentation – Extracranial Cerebrovascular (Applicable Standard 1.7B
  • Documentation– Peripheral Arterial (Applicable Standard 3.7B)
  • Techniques – Peripheral Venous (Applicable Standard 4.4B)
  • Documentation – Peripheral Venous (Applicable Standards 4.5B through 4.7B)
  • Documentation– Visceral Vascular (Applicable Standard 5.7B and 5.9B)

Standards that are highlighted are content changes that were made as part of the January 15, 2018 revision. These Standards will become effective on July 15, 2018. Facilities applying for accreditation after July 15, 2018 must comply with these new highlighted Standards.

News Archive (Articles Prior to 2018)

2017 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2016 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2015 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2014 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2013 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2012 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2011 (click on the article name to view PDF)

2010 (click on the article name to view PDF)